Return to the Ranche

Home | Chronology | Biography | Reid's Work | Places | Picture Galleries | FAQs | Contact

Captain Mayne Reidís Work

U.K. First Edition Books


The Rifle Rangers: or, Adventures of an Officer in Southern Mexico, 2 vols. (London: W. Shoberl, 1850).

The Scalp Hunters: or, Romantic Adventures in Northern Mexico, 3 vols. (London: Skeet, 1851).Volume 1

The Desert Home: or, The Adventures of a Lost Family in the Wilderness (London: D. Bogue, 1852).

The Boy Hunters: or, Adventures in Search of a White Buffalo (London: D. Bogue, 1853).

The Young Voyageurs: or, The Boy Hunters in the North (London: D. Bogue, 1854).

The Forest Exiles: or, The Perils of a Peruvian Family Amid the Wilds of the Amazon (London: D. Bogue, 1854).

The White Chief: A Legend of Northern Mexico, 3 vols. (London: D. Bogue, 1855).

The Bush Boys: or, The History and Adventures of a Cape Farmer and His Family in the Wild Karoos of Southern Africa (London: D. Bogue, 1855).

The Young Yšgers: or, A Narrative of Hunting Adventure in Southern Africa (London: D. Bogue, 1856).

The Quadroon: or, A Lover's Adventure in Louisiana, 3 vols. (London: Hyde, 1856); published in the United States under original title and also as Love's Vengeance.

The Plant Hunters: or, Adventures Among the Himalaya Mountains (London: Ward and Lock, 1857).

The War Trail: or, The Hunt of the Wild Horse (London: n. p., 1857).

Ran Away to Sea: An Autobiography for Boys (London: Brown, 1858).

Oceola, 3 vols. (London: Hurst and Blackett, 1859); republished as The Half Blood (London: Chapman and Hall, 1861); published in the United States as Osceola, the Seminole.

The Boy Tar: or, A Voyage in the Dark (London: W. Kent, 1859).

Odd People: Being a Popular Description of Singular Races of Man (London: Routledge, 1860); published in the United States as The Man Eaters and other Odd People.

The Wild Huntress: or, Love in the Wilderness, 3 vols. (London: R. Bentley, 1861); published in the United States under the original title and also as Wild Huntress: or, The Big Squatter's Vengeance.

Despard the Sportsman (London: H. Lea, 1861).

Bruin: or, The Grand Bear Hunt (London: Routledge, 1861).

The Maroon: or, Planter Life in Jamaica, 3 vols. (London: Hurst and Blackett, 1862).

The Cliff Climbers: or, The Lone Home in the Himalayas (London: Ward and Lock, 1864).

Ocean Waifs (London: D. Bryce, 1864).

The White Gauntlet: A Romance, 3 vols. (London: Skeet, 1864).

Croquet (London: Skeet, 1864).

The Boy Slaves (London: C. H. Clarke, 1865).

The Headless Horseman: A Strange Tale of Texas, 2 vols. (London: Chapman and Hall [vol. 1], R. Bentley [vol. 2], 1865).

The Bandolero: or, A Marriage Among the Mountains (London: R. Bentley, 1866); republished as The Mountain Marriage (Glasgow: Grand Colosseum Warehouse, n.d.).

The Giraffe Hunters, 3 vols. (London: Hurst and Blackett, 1867).

Quadrupeds: What They Are and Where Found (London: T. Nelson, 1867).

The Child Wife: A Tale of the Two Worlds (London: Ward and Lock, 1868).

The Fatal Cord: A Tale of Backwoods Retribution (London: C. Brown, 1869); published in the United States as The Helpless Hand: or, Backwoods Retribution.

The Castaways: A Story of Adventure in the Wilds of Borneo (London: T. Nelson, 1870).

The White Squaw and the Yellow Chief (London: C. H. Clarke, 1871); published in the United States as Yellow Chief and Blue Dick: or, The Yellow Chief's Vengeance.

The Lone Ranche: A Tale of the "Staked Plain," 2 vols. (London: Chapman and Hall, 1871).

The Finger of Fate: A Romance, 2 vols. (London: Chapman, 1872); revised and republished as The Star of Empire: A Romance (London: Maxwell, 1888).

The Death Shot: A Romance of Forest and Prairie, 3 vols. (London: Chapman and Hall, 1873); republished as The Death Shot: A Story Retold (London: Ward, Lock & Tyler, 1874).

The Flag of Distress: A Story of the South Sea, 3 vols. (London: W. Tinsley, 1876); abridged and published in the United States as The Spectre Barque.

Gwen Wynn: A Romance of the Wye, 3 vols. (London: Tinsley Bros., 1877). Volume 1, Volume 2, Volume 3

Gaspar the Gaucho: A Tale of the Gran Chaco (London: Routledge,1879).

The Queen of the Lakes: A Romance of the Mexican Valley (London: W. Mullan, 1880); published in the United States as The Captain of the Rifles: or, The Queen of the Lakes.

The Free Lances: A Romance of the Mexican Valley, 3 vols. (London: Remington, 1881); published in the United States as Cris Rock: or, A Lover in Chains.

The Land of Fire: A Tale of Adventure (London: Warne, 1884).

The Vee-Boers: A Tale of Adventure in Southern Africa (London: Routledge, 1885).

The Lost Mountain: A Tale of Sonora (London: Routledge, 1885); published in the United States as The Gold Seeker's Guide: or, The Lost Mountain.

The Chase of Leviathan: or, Adventures in the Ocean (London: Routledge, 1885); published in the United States as The Ocean Hunters: or, The Chase of Leviathan. A Romance of Perilous Adventure.

No Quarter!, 3 vols. (London: Sonnenschein and Co., 1888). Volume 1, Volume 2, Volume 3

This web site is hosted by a private citizen and provided as a free public service. Its sole purpose is to entertain and inform. All information contained herein was obtained or derived from a variety of sources, including the host's own private collection of Mayne Reid books and related items. The host cannot assume any responsibility for any incorrect information contained on this page or any pages to which it is linked.

This website copyright © 2002-2017 (except where noted) by Steven Butler, Ph.D. All rights reserved.